Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Confess by Colleen Hoover: Blog Tour & Mega Giveaway!


CONFESS by Colleen Hoover
Atria Books | Paperback
On-Sale: 03/10/15
Paperback ISBN: 9781476791456, $16.00
eBook ISBN: 9781476791463, $7.99
320 pages


CONFESS 
BY COLLEEN HOOVER

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping some major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

MY REVIEW
★★★3.5 stars★★★

When it comes to creativity, individuality, and some of the most memorable dialogue, there is no one person that comes close to Colleen Hoover. Not to mention the consistency. Here is what I honest to God thought about Confess....

I started off absolutely loving it. Colleen always manages to give each and every one of her novels a thing, something special. It may be a small thing, but Colleen Hoover has perfected the art of turning the insignificant, significant. She gives everything meaning, and she does this effortlessly. This book was no exception. The confessions, the artwork...it was genius. The entire concept screamed Colleen Hoover. I also loved the idea of fate, and the connection between Owen and Auburn. A connection Owen chooses not to share. True, that decision was just a very small detail of the plot, but it’s the weight of those small details that makes each story Colleen creates real, special, unique, and believable.

What I did have some difficulty loving (and what kept me right at about 3.5 stars) was the plot.

It ran away.

It started off really good, the conflict building between Auburn and Trey. Trey’s shared history with Owen. All of this was beautifully woven together. Even Owen's backstory intricately deepened his connection with Auburn by linking their own unique tragedies. Not by sharing the same experiences, but by sharing the same pain.

Loss.

However, throw all of that in with drugs, arrests, shady cops and legal battles, and you have a whole damn lot going on all at once. It made it hard to get the development any one issue needed when there was so much to juggle. I was overwhelmed, and it took a little away from the realism. I didn’t feel like I was reading the same book I started. All the drama took on a life of its own.

I remember when it all started to unravel, and every conflict seemed to peak at once, I was thinking, "How in the hell is all this going to be wrapped up with the few pages left.” There wasn’t enough time to do all the concurrent storylines justice.

The first half and final chapter were definitely my favorite, but somewhere in between, it lost some cohesion. With less going on, more of those things could have been interwoven more closely with the story creating a deeper connection.

BUT...

The emotions that were expressed through the truly genuine dialogue was inspiring. It was some of Colleen’s best work yet. I highlighted so many beautiful words. The creativity of what she did with the confessions overshadowed a bunch of minor nuances that were easy to overlook. It’s easy to forgive a few plot issues when the writing is that damn good!

Fans of Colleen Hoover are NOT going to be disappointed. Sure, it may not be your favorite, but to say this book was anything even close to bad would be ridiculous. Her consistency astounds me. Think of all the books she has written. To have her track record, is absolutely insane. Even if she is statistically predestined to have a dud, this book was not it. It may not have been my favorite, but the standard I have come to expect from Colleen Hoover was definitely met. Everyone who reads Confess is going to (I promise) find something in it that they love. <------That right there is a success!

So, if I was a little indifferent, why in the hell did I make a book trailer?

Despite anything I may not have liked about Confess, it still inspired me. Colleen Hoover’s talent inspires me. The originality and creativity she wove into this story inspires me. My trailers are only as good as what inspires them.

Colleen Hoover is responsible for that.

READ ON!

Get Your Copy Now!


Enter for a chance to win!
Visit Atria’s Tumblr page from 3/9 – 3/22 to enter to win a grand prize of a signed framed print of one of the images in the book plus a signed copy of CONFESS or one of the runner up prizes, one of four signed copies of CONFESS.


About the Author:
Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Slammed, Point of Retreat, This Girl, Hopeless, Losing Hope, Maybe Someday, Finding Cinderella, and Ugly Love. She lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys.  

Find Colleen online:

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Seven Days of Confessions....


Raise your hand if you're NOT impatiently waiting on the release of Colleen Hoover's next (sure to be) bestseller, Confess. Anyone?

Anyone?


I didn't think so.


So to get ready, I'll be posting seven confessions over the next seven days, right up until its release on March 10th. You can check out each confession on my Facebook page daily.


In honor of my first confession and to kick things off right, I'm releasing my book trailer for Confess EARLY. As in right now! The book trailer kind of goes along with my first confession so I had no choice but to share it!!


CONFESSIONS DAY ONE


I am extremely OCD when it comes to my book trailers. When I say I'm OCD, I mean O-C-D! I spend hours, HOURS making miniscule edits in order to match the music perfectly with the clips.The trailer you're about to see was not the only draft made. While watching, you might notice how the blue and white paint just "happens" to splash together at the same time of the "ding"....this was not an accident. And you might catch how the word Confess transitions onto the screen with the first crescendo...nope, still not an accident. And finally, "one" and "two" hitting in time with those big "dong" noises....you guessed it....NOT AN ACCIDENT. Even in my Ugly Love trailer the song talks about love at the same time the word "Love" from the cover is zoomed in on.....accident it was not. I could go on, but you get the idea. It's an unhealthy obsession.
In the original draft of my Confess trailer, the "one" and "two" were about a quarter to about a half of a second too early, meaning the big "dongs" weren't perfect. I need perfect dongs, dammit!! So...I reworked it, deleted the original, and reloaded it to youtube. This happens more often than not. 
So I hope you enjoy this trailer as much as I did obsessing over it.



**ALL CONFESSIONS IN THIS VIDEO ARE TRUE CONFESSIONS FROM REAL PEOPLE WHO POSTED THEIR VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE

Monday, March 2, 2015

NEW REVIEW: Clear by Jessica Park. Clearly things are unclear....

Clear: A Death Trippers Novel 
by Jessica Park

Stella Ford’s grasp on reality is already loose, and it’s about to come undone.

When the college junior flees Chicago and leaves her toxic family behind, she heads for coastal Maine to find the one person who brought her peace years ago: Sam Bishop. But the Sam she once knew now has painful secrets.

Stella is determined to heal them both. Healing, however, is a challenge when the walls of her everyday existence collapse. And when Sam’s best friend is his worst enemy.

When the line between life and death blurs.

When an end is just a beginning.

When lust and rage rule.

Yet during extraordinary chaos, there can be extraordinary love, even if that love comes with a twist.

Welcome to death tripping.

A thriller, a paranormal, and a passionate romance, CLEAR crosses genres and breaks boundaries.



***My Review***

The book that is absolutely impossible to rate…

I feel like I just went twelve rounds…with a book, and I lost.

What. Did. I. Just. Read!?

First we start here. Then we’re there. Then we’re….

Where are we?

I felt like I was tripping.

So thanks Jessica Park for writing a book that I have absolutely no idea what to do with.

The great thing about paranormal is that you get to make your own rules because…there are no rules. However, sometimes I felt like this book took its limits too far. Towards the end, I felt like things were stretched so far beyond making them fit, in order to make them fit. It just didn’t fit.

I enjoyed the first half quite a bit more than the second half, because the paranormal aspect almost disconnected me from a story that had done such a beautiful job gripping my attention from the start. Then we surged. Oh boy did we surge. The first time came unexpectedly from the very center of my blind side and slapped me right in the face. It hurt, and I didn’t like it. I respect the author for stepping way out of my comfort zone, but it made me uncomfortable. It made me see Sam in a way that was opposite of how I wanted to see him. However, by the end of the story, I became so caught up in what the hell would happen next that the shock wore off and I was able to read on. Curiosity is a strong motivator and Jessica Park created a very curious world.

Clear is extremely captivating in its originality and off-putting in its controversy. A hot mess of intriguing proportions.

So now that you’re thoroughly confused. What did I think?

Did I like it ?

Is this a good review?

A bad review?

Hell if I know.

READ ON!

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 26, 2015

COVER REVEAL: Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid


MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Atria Books/Washington Square Press Paperback | 352 pages | ISBN:  9781476776880 | July 7, 2015 

eBook: Atria Books/Washington Square Press | 352 pages | ISBN: 9781476776897 | July 7, 2015 

At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college, but on the heels of a disastrous breakup, she has finally returned to her hometown of Los Angeles. To celebrate her first night back, her best friend, Gabby, takes Hannah out to a bar—where she meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan.

It’s just past midnight when Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. Ethan quickly offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay.
Hannah hesitates.
What happens if she leaves with Gabby?
What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into surprisingly different stories with far-reaching consequences for Hannah and the people around her, raising questions like: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Taylor Jenkins Reid is an author and essayist from Acton, Massachusetts. She is the author of Forever, Interruptedand After I Do. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alex, and her dog, Rabbit. You can follow her on Twitter @TJenkinsReid.  

FIND TAYLOR ONLINE:

PRE ORDER:

COVER REVEAL: Untamed by S.C. Stephens


UNTAMED by S.C. Stephens
November 3rd, 2015

Griffin Hancock is tired of being stuck behind Kellan Kyle's spotlight. He's the best, the main event, and everyone should know it. He has Anna, and his beautiful daughter Gibson, and to hell with the rest of them. A new venture presents itself, and Griffin decides this is his chance. When he tells the band about his new side gig, they are less than supportive. Undaunted by their criticism, Griffin decides to take matters into his own hands. Packing up his family, he leaves Seattle behind and returns to L.A. to break out on his own. But success isn't as easy as Griffin thought it would be, and he soon finds that the phrase 'You don't know what you've got until it's gone', is all too true.

About S.C. Stephens
S. C. Stephens is a #1 bestselling author who enjoys creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance. In addition to writing, she likes spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies, and spending time with her friends and family.  She and her two children reside in the Pacific Northwest. 

Connect with S.C. Stephens

Pre-Order
Soon to be at retailers everywhere including Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, iTunes, Kobo, and IndieBound too!

Monday, February 23, 2015

REVIEW: Thoughtful (Thoughtless 1.5) by S.C. Stephens

Thoughtful by S.C. Stephens
★★★ 3.5 stars ★★★

Please don't hate me before you read this review….


A new novel in the Thoughtless series from #1 New York Times bestselling author S. C. Stephens! 

Every story has two sides, and in this new book, the epic love story between Kiera and Kellan is shown through his eyes. 

All Kellan Kyle needs is his guitar, and some clean sheets of paper. Growing up in a house that was far from a home, he learned a hard lesson: You're worthless. Now his life is comfortably filled with passionate music, loyal band mates, and fast women...until he meets her. 

Kiera makes him ache for more. Makes him feel for the first time that he'sworth more. But there's one problem - she's his best friend's girl. 

Just when Kellan thought his emotional defenses were rock solid, Kiera's indecisive heart wreaks havoc on his soul, changing him forever. Losing Kiera is not an option.


My Review

One thing that was evident when I started reading Thoughtful is that I don't, or I didn't, understand Kellan Kyle near as well as I thought I did. So far, we have gotten Kellan's explanation (through Kiera's POV) as to why his lifestyle was filled with meaningless sex, music, and more meaningless sex. His past dialogue has enlightened us to why he needed those women, that connection. However, it wasn't until this book that I truly understood it, and that understanding starts from the very first page. It connected me with Kellan in a way that the other books just couldn't.

So, as a long time (pink cover free version long time) fan of this series, reading Thoughtful was a true gift.

The reason I didn't rate it higher is that this book just didn't quite carry the same punch as Thoughtless. However, the impossibility of being able to do that is not the author's fault. We get to see some flashbacks from Kellan's POV and a few scenes from when Kellan wasn't with Kiera, but for the most part, this follows the same storyline and progression of events as Thoughtless. The emotions I felt when first reading this series from Kiera's POV were impossible to duplicate with the same intensity. It was also hard not to skim certain parts that seemed to move a little slower in order to get to one of those more memorable/pivotal scenes, but I'm glad she stayed on point with Thoughtless. If she hadn't, there's a possibility that one of the scenes that I had personally been dying to read might not have been included. I got what I wanted. This makes me happy.

One of my absolute favorite things about this book happens to be one of my not so favorites. What can I say, I'm controversial. In Thoughtful, we are introduced to a totally new Kellan Kyle. His love and infatuation with Kiera is palpable. His sensitivity, full of passion, but I didn't get to see much more than that. Kellan's defense mechanism is protecting his emotions with a thick layer of confidence and flirtiness, and sometimes mixed with a little asshole. I know much of this is a front, but I believe with all of my heart that my our Kellan Kyle shares some of the same characteristics he shows on the surface. When he's on stage, he radiates strength, sexuality, confidence and a lot of testosterone, but we don't see much of that below the surface in Thoughtful. I loved the emotional side of Kellan, but I feel this book lost the, for lack of a better word, manlier (and sometimes playful) side. I loved so much getting to discover a new Kellan, one I didn't really know before, but I missed seeing the one that I thought I already knew.

I don't want anyone to take this review as me saying I didn't enjoy the book. It is a great companion to this series, a series that is so high on my shelf of favorites that I don't even think I can reach it anymore. When you love a book and a author's work as much as I do the this series and S.C. Stephens, more is always a good thing. The scenes this book contains from Kellan's POV are invaluable and even though it may have contained some things I didn't like, imperfections are irrelevant with unconditional love and this series has definitely earned that.

READ ON!



Buy Links: Releases February 24th, 2015
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iBook

View all my reviews