Monday, September 1, 2014

That Boy: New Covers, A giveaway, & an exclusive sneak peek at That Baby by Jillian Dodd


My entire body is shaking with excitement as I type this post. One of my favorite series of ALL TIME has gotten new covers. Beautiful covers. Covers that take me all the way back to February of 2012 when I discovered That Boy and by default, Jillian Dodd. THANK GOD FOR THAT. I have been waiting years, years I say, for this amazing story to continue. Now I can see it, almost touch it. IT'S COMING SPRING 2015!! That Baby not only has a cover, but an exclusive excerpt for me to share!! AHHHHHHHHHHH!! Check out these amazing new covers and don't forget to enter for a chance to win a signed copy of That Boy and That Wedding. If you haven't read this amazing series. Do it. DO IT NOW!

READ ON!!

That Boy (That Boy #1) by Jillian Dodd
My Review

Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
Kobo








That Wedding (That Boy #2) by Jillian Dodd
My Review

Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
Kobo






That Baby (That Boy #3) by Jillian Dodd
Release Date: Spring 2015

Excerpt
I wake up stilling feeling kinda crappy, but I don’t puke! I’m thinking, Thank you, God, but, still, where is Mother Nature when you need her?
Still no period, and I’m starting to believe that maybe I am pregnant. Phillip says that since I am still sick or whatever, that he will unpack, while I watch and tell him where I want stuff.
So we do that.
And I can’t help it. The thought actually crosses my mind that it might be cool if I were pregnant. I know the timing is not right at all, but Phillip is so amazing, so sweet, so good to me. It seems kind of selfish of me to want to hog all that love and keep it for myself. He’s going to be a great dad and a wonderful husband, of that I have no doubt.
And this afternoon, when he drives twenty-two miles to get me what Danny dubs as the best chicken noodle soup in Kansas City, I almost want to cry because I feel so lucky and loved.
We sit at our new kitchen table and eat warm, soft dinner rolls, and the amazing chicken soup together.
I know I look like shit. I haven’t showered or brushed my hair in two days, but Phillip doesn’t seem to care. He still looks at me like I’m the most beautiful girl in the world.
I’m so seriously lucky.
I also seriously have to pee.
It is at this point in my life that I realize Mother Nature has a very warped sense of humor.
My period has arrived.
And I should be relieved. I should be jumping with joy happy.
I should go out screaming, Phillip, it’s okay!!  My period is here!! Lets celebrate!
But that’s not how I’m feeling.
I feel, well, I’m still trying to wrap my head around how I’m feeling. Because the way I’m feeling is a shock even to myself. I’m feeling, um, well, I’m feeling quite sad actually.
I’m feeling let down.
And I have no idea why.
I walk back out to the living room and tell Phillip quietly, “I just got my period.”
He looks kinda crushed, and I just start bawling.
I know most of us women get a little weepy feeling when our hormones are doing whatever it is that they do when we get our periods. I always tend to feel fat, ugly, and sorry for myself. When I went on the pill in college, that seemed to help those symptoms lessen, and I’m lucky that I rarely even get cramps anymore.
But this is more than hormones, this is sadness.
I can’t believe I’m thinking this, but I think I might be sad I’m not pregnant.
And I can see disappointment written all over Phillip’s face. He really looks like he could cry.
I start blubbering to Phillip, “I’m sorry, Phillip, I’m sorry I let you down, I know you wanted me to be, and I wasn’t sure, and now I’m like so sad that I’m not, and I love you, and blabber, blabber, blabber.” I don't even know what I’m saying.
Phillip holds me tight and just listens. When I’m done blathering on, he says, “It’s okay. I’m not mad, but I will admit I got a little excited about the possibility. Maybe we learned something?”
“Like what?” I sob.
“That maybe we don’t need to wait? Like maybe you are ready, we’re ready?”
“Yeah, maybe we are."




a Rafflecopter giveaway

NEW REVIEW: One More Chance (Rosemary Beach #7) by Abbi Glines

One More Chance by Abbi Glines
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


BUY LINKS:

After fighting his way into Harlow Manning’s heart—and revealing a side of himself no one had ever seen before—Grant Carter destroyed his own heart by giving in to his greatest fears and doubts. Months later, he’s stuck in a miserable routine. Work relentlessly. Beg his best friend Rush for news about Harlow. Avoid all other friends. Leave nightly voicemails for Harlow, pleading with her to come back to Rosemary Beach. Fall asleep alone. Repeat.

Miles away, on her brother’s Texas ranch, Harlow can’t bring herself to listen to Grant’s voicemails. Though she wants to be with him, and knows he regrets letting her go, she doesn’t know if she can trust him. When he discovered the truth behind her sheltered upbringing, it shattered their relationship, but the secret she carries now has far greater consequences. Can she risk giving Grant one more chance, or will the gamble ultimately destroy her?

Dear Abbi,

So here we are…again. Corresponding after the completion of one of your books….again. A book for which I have but one very important thing to say.

I. WAS. RIGHT!

Damn that feels good!! Right, right, right. I guess what I'm really trying to say is…I WAS RIGHT!!

If you remember, I made a few bold predictions in my review of Take a Chance. Predictions blanketed with my faith in you Abbi, and the direction you'd hopefully take us (i.e. Grant) in One More Chance. I wanted to go there. You took us there. And for the naysayers with their Grant hating nay saying, you will definitely be silenced after reading One More Chance. It's time to give Grant one more chance. This entire book encompasses the idea--One. More. Chance.

Prediction #1

"I personally love the disappointment I felt towards Grant because it left an incredible amount of room for growth, and I can't wait to experience the evolution of his character."

I can now say, without a doubt, that you brought this evolution to fruition in One More Chance. His growth was the ultimate experience and I couldn't be prouder.

Prediction #2

"I know he's capable of so much more. I want to experience the more. I have no doubt that you'll deliver the more."

You delivered the more. Grant was more. The relationship and emotion between him and Harlow was more. The heartfelt and emotional style in which you wrote this book was more. Everything was more.

Prediction #3

"I think the problem here was that I just needed more time with the characters and their story, more time to become involved."

I started One More Chance involved, and I stayed involved. I loved how you didn't drag out the drama between Grant and Harlow. No ad nauseam back and forth. No ridiculous love triangle. It was a story about second chances. You gave Harlow and Grant their second chance.

"I am very much looking forward to what's to come, and I have much faith that those things I felt were missing early on in this series are definitely coming. They're coming!"

They came.

Even though I didn't know, I knew. You did this Abbi. I can honestly say, I am satisfied. Satisfaction you provided. And for that, I thank you! You continue to addict me, and I can't wait for the next ride.

Sincerely,

Your Reader

Rosemary Beach series reading order:
1) Fallen Too Far (RUSH)  Review     Rush Too Far (Fallen Too Far, Rush's POV)
2) Never Too Far (RUSH)  Review
3) Twisted Perfection (WOODS)
4) Forever Too Far (RUSH)
5) Simple Perfection (WOODS)
6) Take a Chance (GRANT) Review
7) One More Chance (GRANT)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
ABBI GLINES is the New York Times, USA TODAY, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of theRosemary Beach, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, and Existence series. A devoted booklover, Abbi lives with her family in Alabama. She maintains a Twitter addiction at @AbbiGlines and can also be found on Facebook and at AbbiGlines.com. 

"Only Abbi Glines can pull off a heart-wrenching love story like this."
– Tammara WebberNew York Times bestselling author

Another Abbi Glines Favorite








View all my reviews

Sunday, August 31, 2014

NEW REVIEW: Bright Side by Kim Holden

Bright Side by Kim Holden
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

"Dude, I can't even…"


Secrets. 
Everyone has one. 
Some are bigger than others. 
And when secrets are revealed, 
Some will heal you ... 
And some will end you. 

Kate Sedgwick’s life has been anything but typical. She’s endured hardship and tragedy, but throughout it all she remains happy and optimistic (there’s a reason her best friend Gus calls her Bright Side). Kate is strong-willed, funny, smart, and musically gifted. She’s also never believed in love. So when Kate leaves San Diego to attend college in the small town of Grant, Minnesota, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with Keller Banks. 

They both feel it. 
But they each have a reason to fight it. 
They each have a secret. 

And when secrets are revealed, 
Some will heal you … 
And some will end you. 


My Review

It has been days. Days!! I just can't, but I gotta. But I can't. I must.

Numbness. Feels. Overload.

It's impossible.

Here I go.

I'm going.

Okay.

So.

Maybe it would be best if I started at the beginning.

It all started as a goodreads recommendation….from Donna. Donna. The person I want to hug. Punch in the face. Hug. Punch. Damn you! You owe me valium…and ice cream. After the recommendation, I read the synopsis. Intriguing. I also loved the fact that it only had three reviews. I absolutely love new unknowns. It's like a secret. My secret. I decided to give it a go.

I went.

There's no going back.

These feelings can't be unfelt.

I feel.

Kate Sedgwick may be one of my favorite female characters of all time. Let's face it, female characters usually have the tendency to be….well, they sometimes suck. They're annoying. I usually prefer the male characters. I don't play well with others.

Wait!

Before you revoke my woman card or force me to burn my bra and roar, it's kind of a common occurrence with female heroines. They frustrate. They annoy.

I'm sure the nations leading psychologists might theorize that my "issues" with female characters probably stem from a place of jealousy. Damn straight. They never deserve the guy. My guy. I tolerate them because without them, there'd be no story.

Not Kate. I more than tolerated Kate. I adored Kate. I loved Kate. I was tied to everything she felt, experienced. Her character is unforgettable. This story is unforgettable.

I feel.

Then there's Gus (who I hear is getting his own book), and Keller, and Clayton, and Stella, and pretty much every character in this book.

I. Can't. Even.

The love between Gus and Bright Side. The love between her and Keller. I felt everything. The love was intoxicating. Suffocating. It hurt. It healed.

Sure the plot was predictable, but nothing. Nothing, prepared me for the emotions. I started crying during the last half, sobbed my way through the final chapters, but somehow I ended the book with a smile.

The hurt and emotions didn't cause me to break. I endured. I survived. Each emotion was coupled with humor, wit, an amazing story, and unforgettable characters. Laugh. Cry. Heal.

Embark on this incredible journey.

DO EPIC!

Links:
Amazon
Goodreads

View all my reviews

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

New Review: On the Record (Record, #2) by K.A. Linde

On the Record by K.A. Linde
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars


Release Date: August 26th, 2014
Buy link: Amazon

For political reporter Liz Dougherty, election day—a day of looking toward the future and saying goodbye to the past—seems like a fitting time to start a new relationship. But feelings for her former flame still linger...

The sexy second book in bestselling author K.A. Linde’s Record series decides whether it’s better to pick up the pieces and move on...or to pick up right where you left off.


Sometimes I confuse myself….and it's confusing!

Sometimes. I. Just. Don't. Know.

But here is what I do know.

I really enjoyed Off the Record (Record, #1). It gave me a taste of something I didn't even know I craved. It was original. It was well written. It was love discovered on the foundation of lust. It was growth. It was evolution. It was sacrifice. It was….Brady.

It just was.

On the Record was good. It was tantalizingly frustrating. It left me in anticipation for the next installment, but it also left me confused. Confused because I didn't quite enjoy it as much as I did book one. Something was a bit off. Something that didn't altogether leave me feeling the same high I felt with Off the Record.

I'll start by saying that I loved the beginning. It built anticipation. I loved the internal struggles over Hayden, and I loved how I never once felt like there was a love triangle. Not one bit. I know what you're saying, "That's four balls, two penises, a pair of breasts and one really indecisive vagina. I'm pretty sure that makes up the exact ingredients for a love triangle." But it just didn't feel like that. It felt more like two relationships running parallel to each other, but never quite being aloud to cross. Liz compartmentalized them into two opposite sides of her heart. I never felt her vacillating as much as she was trying to move on. It didn't have the annoyance of a love triangle. It was sort of perfect like that.

In the beginning, the pace was perfect, but something about the progression of Brady's character into the story felt off, the flow and development awkward. Brady's whole attitude and feelings seemed to change so abruptly from one interaction to the next. Yet if you really consider the vast amount of time this installment actually covers, it really isn't that abrupt. But it was something I, as a reader, really didn't get to experience. Brady had his own struggles and issues to work through, but it being from Liz's POV we don't get to see much of that progression. His progression.

I also didn't like the whole situation with Clay, especially Liz's abrupt mid-coitus turnaround. First she was. Then she wasn't. Then I was. Then he was. Then the phone was. True, it added for some good angsty drama later and provided elements to move along the plot, but like I mentioned earlier, it just threw things kind of…off.

I'm also still totally confused about what happened with Hayden and Liz in the bedroom. I've read that scene from front to back about thirty times, and I'm totally at a loss. A loss about what's discussed between Liz and Brady later. What she allows Brady to think. How she feels about it in that moment. Does she think that Hayden….? I kept thinking I had somehow misread the scene, or definitely missed something. But I am so confused. It left me wondering if the bedroom scene had been tamed down or edited down, and that would explain…well, it would just explain.

Maybe I'm dense.

Either way. Despite my confusion, in true K.A. Linde fashion, I found myself completely submerged under the weight of my unsureness, angst, and anticipation for hours after I had done reading it. Maybe I didn't like it as much as the first one, but I enjoyed the journey and am excitingly anticipating the next book in the trilogy.

READ ON!

For the Record (Record, #3) by K.A. Linde
Release Date: November 18th, 2014

Pre-Order: Amazon


With Congressman Brady Maxwell up for reelection and journalist Liz Dougherty about to graduate into a promising career, the ambitious couple’s future is brighter than ever. They share a passion for their work…and for each other. But when Brady holds a press conference to officially introduce Liz as his girlfriend, reporters hungry for a scandal bombard her. Now, her every move is under a vicious magnifying glass, and her life feels like it’s falling apart.
On the road to reelection, the passionate bond between the congressman and the journalist gets tested at every stop. Threatened by shameless media sensationalism and jealous exes, Brady and Liz now have to learn to trust each other despite what they read in the papers.



Off the Record (Record, #1) by K.A. Linde

Links:
Amazon

Liz Dougherty has no idea that a single question is about to change her life.

Her first big reporting assignment for her North Carolina college newspaper has her covering a state senator’s impromptu press conference. Brady Maxwell may have everything it takes to be a politician—a winning pedigree, devastating good looks, a body made to wear suits—but his politics rub Liz the wrong way. When Liz’s hard-hitting question catches the upstart senator off-guard, it impresses Hayden Lane, Liz’s editor who feels she’s headed for a promising career as a reporter.

But Liz is also headed into a secret romance with Brady that could destroy both their ambitions. Though he’s a bachelor, potential voters might frown on Brady cozying up to a reporter. And Liz isn’t sure sneaking around is enough for her—especially when things between her and Hayden might be less platonic than she thought.


View all my reviews

Monday, August 25, 2014

New Review:: Get Me (The Keatyn Chronicles #6) by Jillian Dodd. "Where do I start when this is the end?…"

Get Me by Jillian Dodd
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Release Date: August 25th, 2014
Links:
Amazon
iBooks
Kobo

Will Keatyn get her life back? 
And if she does, which life will she choose? 

This is the 6th and final book in the series.


My Review
What a ride. What a crazy, incredibly frustrating, insanely addictive ride.

This series has been my guilty pleasure from day one. You love it when you love it, and you love it when you don't.


It's like a carefully orchestrated car crash that's impossible to look away from.


It has met my stubborn resistance and pulled me on a journey of discovery, growth, loss, and love. A journey interwoven with so much drama. It's pure chaos.


Addictive chaos.


Perfect chaos.


Chaos that has generated almost a cult following.


Despite the dramatic insanity that is Keatyn's life. Despite having to battle constant frustrations. Despite everything. I always craved more.


I finished each installment, aching for the next one. And with each new release, I'd drop life until I was finished.


It's not a perfect series. In fact, it will sometimes annoy you to your breaking point, but every time it manages to suck you back in.


I can sum up Get Me in one word. Closure. For so long, this series has controlled me, and in the end Jillian Dodd gives us closure. She gives us The End.


The book starts off big and keeps the pace the entire way through. You find out that sometimes things aren't always as they seem, and Keatyn isn't the only one with secrets. Insert first jaw drop here. The first that will be followed by many. It's a crazy ride. Be warned though, you'll need to throw your big girl fictional panties on and realize that this is a story….a work of FICTION. This series has never been huge on strict realistic accuracies, it's part of the fun. Get Me is also saturated with some pretty extraordinary situations. There will be times where you're going to be like, "Come on! That would never happen in real life." But that's the point, this isn't real life. It's fiction. Can you really create a handwritten legal document on a snowflake? Probably not. And if you're risking your life in a death defining moment to save someone you care about, are you going to whip out your phone and film it? Mmmmmm….yeah, no. So just allow your eyes to roll and enjoy the story. It is pure entertainment!!


Perhaps how everything climaxed and concluded was too much, a little too over the top, but this series has always been too much. 
Too much from day one. But I have too much love for this series not to be completely satisfied and overly content with how it all ended (and my moon boy wasn't even in the running).

It was about so much more than just who she ended up with. It was about a journey. An experience. A resolution.


This was about happily ever after!


READ ON!


The journey….

"If you're expecting a unique YA-mature read with sharp edge and an addictive story line, then slap your own arse because this is the book for you." -- Stalk Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #1) Review

"Jillian somehow managed to meet my stubborn resistance by pulling me into a story that is filled with beautifully chaotic, teenage drama. It's a story that's fun and fresh, sexy and steamy. It's dangerously addictive." -- Kiss Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #2) Review


"This book picks up exactly where Kiss Me left off. And just like its predecessors, it drove me insane, completely insane. Even the parts you don’t like, you tolerate, and the parts you hate, you love. It’s a crazy addiction that I can’t explain." -- Date Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #3) Review


"At the start of every single book, I painstakingly turn from one page to the next with a kaleidoscope of emotions. I can usually sense the direction the story is headed, and it punches me right in the heart. LOOK AWAY! I can't! NO! Damn you Jillian! I need a drink!" -- Love Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #4) Review


"From naughty movie covers to hidden messages in the sand, Disney is for all ages. So is The Keatyn Chronicles. I'm not saying readers are going to find a giant golden penis hidden somewhere between the pages , but what I hope they understand is that YA-mature means YA-for everyone. Everyone of all ages. Except for maybe babies. Mostly because they can't read." -- Adore Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, 4.5) Review


"It's an unconditional addiction!" -- Hate Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #5) Review



The Keatyn Chronicles series (Books 2-5) are currently on sale for only $0.99!
Book 1, Stalk Me is FREE!!



View all my reviews

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: Review, Music and my very own Ugly Expectations!

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Release Date: August 5th, 2014
Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iBooks
Kobo

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.


Ugly Expectations….

When I read Ugly Love several months ago, I unconsciously dove in with inequitable expectations. They were ugly. 
Ug-ly!!

I have read every single book this woman has ever blessed us to write. Each one bearing an inexpressible brand. A stamp, a trademark that can't be put into words. Something that links each book together as the same, but simultaneously expressing an individuality. This indescribable connection can only be described as one thing, Colleen Hoover.

So what the hell am I trying to say here???

Well…

My biased (and extremely judgmental) head was not on straight before I started Ugly Love. Even though I knew, I knew she was trying something different here, I still expected the same.

So my first reaction after finishing Ugly Love was a direct result of my own ugly expectations.

I thought it was a great book, but I thought it was missing something. Not something, someone. It was missing Colleen Hoover.

Or was it?

Several months later I received my proof copy in the mail. It was pretty….and shiny. Something told me I needed to read it again.

So I did.

I saw things.

Things I should have seen the first time I read it.

You know the "thing" I thought was missing?

It. Was. There. Ugly Love had a thing. It had the thing. This book did contain Colleen Hoover. It contained awesome! Awesome is THE THING!!

Now I'm not saying everyone's going to need to read this book twice to enjoy it. Readers just need to remember that what connects every single one of Colleen's books is her amazing talent for writing, and stories that leave us….leave us….Well, they don't actually leave us. They stay with us.

It's human nature to find comfort in something you love, never wanting it to change. But what if Oreos never became double stuffed? What if fountain drinks never went past the 32 ouncer? What if cubed ice never became crushed!!! Sometimes different is a great thing.

Expect something different.

Ugly Love is a great story. It digs a little deeper. Goes a little darker. Pushes a little harder. It creates an entirely new experience. Even the sex scenes had an intensity that went way beyond being hot or sexy. It emoted passion.

It was heartbreaking.

Miles was heartbreaking.

However, I never quite connected with Tate in the way I would have liked to. I'm not sure if I didn't understand her or that I understood her a little too well. Even though we eventually learn why Miles said the things he said and did the things he did; it was hard to respect Tate for putting up with it. I'm afraid her character was set up in a way that she was damned if she did, and damned if she didn't. Sometimes her inability to draw the line made her come across as weak.

I just missed that connection like I had with Miles.

The lyrical and poetic way the chapters from the past are written were beautiful, but it took me a few chapters to get use to it. However, once I got there, I loved it. Colleen's creativity knows no limits. Her writing knows no limits.

This is definitely a story about loss, but more importantly an excruciatingly painful story about love. Ugly Love displays the spectacular range of what Colleen Hoover can do and I absolutely can't wait to see what she does next!!

READ ON!


Ugly Love - Single